Release Candidate (RC) Version - Download and Feedback

Forum dedicated to the alpha, beta, and RC versions
ntnll
Posts: 593
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 12:32 pm

Re: RCs public previews

Post by ntnll » Wed May 01, 2019 8:17 am

vittop wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 11:18 pm
ntnll wrote:
Sat Apr 27, 2019 9:45 am
124thATCv2.0-a60RC31 uploaded. Many bugs fixed. Descent phase improved. Missed approach call bug fixed. Minor bugs fixed
Is there a built-in algorythm to decide which rwy assign for landing or is it random?
Thanks for your feedback vittop. Yes there is. You can see that in the logs. Basically the algorithm takes in consideration the wind direction and the wed wind flow configuration
124thATC Developer

peroni
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:54 pm

Re: RCs public previews

Post by peroni » Thu May 02, 2019 1:20 pm

Hi Antonello (can we help you find who stole your wovels? :D )

Is there any plan to reduce the amount of time your plugin takes to initialize?

oncleseb
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 4:04 pm

Altitude cleared does not match with Maps

Post by oncleseb » Sat May 04, 2019 6:19 am

Hi Antonello,
Flight KMIA to KSRQ, FL140, no SID no STAR selected.
But, in order to test, I chose to flight, just after take take-off, to WINCO fix point.
On maps, altitude at WINCO is limited to 5000, because WINCO belongs to KMIA SID fix points.
124th has cleared me to 7000 !
(After, cleard me to FL140, ok !)
Sebastien
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

ntnll
Posts: 593
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 12:32 pm

Re: Altitude cleared does not match with Maps

Post by ntnll » Sat May 04, 2019 5:49 pm

oncleseb wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 6:19 am
Hi Antonello,
Flight KMIA to KSRQ, FL140, no SID no STAR selected.
But, in order to test, I chose to flight, just after take take-off, to WINCO fix point.
On maps, altitude at WINCO is limited to 5000, because WINCO belongs to KMIA SID fix points.
124th has cleared me to 7000 !
(After, cleard me to FL140, ok !)
Sebastien
Hi Sebastien,
you posted in the wrong section, as usual. Post moved in the correct thread, please remember to post in the correction section future posts.
Thanks for reporting, I'll have a look into it.

a.
124thATC Developer

vittop
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:50 am

Re: RCs public previews

Post by vittop » Sat May 04, 2019 10:00 pm

ntnll wrote:
Wed May 01, 2019 8:17 am
vittop wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 11:18 pm
ntnll wrote:
Sat Apr 27, 2019 9:45 am
124thATCv2.0-a60RC31 uploaded. Many bugs fixed. Descent phase improved. Missed approach call bug fixed. Minor bugs fixed
Is there a built-in algorythm to decide which rwy assign for landing or is it random?
Thanks for your feedback vittop. Yes there is. You can see that in the logs. Basically the algorithm takes in consideration the wind direction and the wed wind flow configuration
so it looks like we've a problem, since in this flight a wind 200@14 should suggest rwy 21 as preferred, not 03 as I was sent, increasig landing speed and length
[Using XP11.41r1|Ubuntu 16.04.7\Mint 18.3|Kernel 4.15.0-99|amdgpu opensource driver|Mesa 18.0.5]

ntnll
Posts: 593
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 12:32 pm

Re: RCs public previews

Post by ntnll » Sun May 05, 2019 9:43 am

vittop wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 11:18 pm
ntnll wrote:
Sat Apr 27, 2019 9:45 am
124thATCv2.0-a60RC31 uploaded. Many bugs fixed. Descent phase improved. Missed approach call bug fixed. Minor bugs fixed
Retried flight from PAGE KPGA to CORTEZ KCEZ which failed with RC30. With RC31 I was able to file IFR fp request to TWR, and fly to delivery to destination TWR at about 2000ft above apt level, where I was previously instructed to land on rwy 03. At the time of handoff to twr, nevertheless I was 7-8 mls from rwy but not aligned with it, instead displaced at about 45 degs on the right, strange when automatic STAR is selected. No problem, I turned left to reach glide path and then right when aligned with rwy. Last remark, when approaching at 100 kts IAS as recommended, I noticed a strangely high ground speed as well as at touch down at 90 kts IAS. A call to ATIS revealed a tail wind of 14 kts from 200 degs. I would have expected to be assigned rwy 21. Is there a built-in algorythm to decide which rwy assign for landing or is it random?

as usual, find debug attached
bugReport.tar.gz

Also Retried my other test flight with C172 KPAE->KCLM via SEA ULESS ARRIE ELWHA. No change: also with RC31 just like RC29\30 after ULESS no instruction to turn toward ARRIE. C172 left heading toward Sakhalin. Hope not to find any soviet Flagon still on patrol :-(

as usual, find debug attached
bugReport1.tar.gz

Finally, tested RC31 C90B KCEZ->KASE. A first test using manual START/SID went ok until on approach to KASE where I crashed for icing on final leg due to severe weather. A second test using auto START/SID crashed after center accepted my flight plane. I have a debug for this also

bugReport2.tar.gz
Apparently the plugin is detecting less than 10 knots wind. If you are sure the wind was faster, I'll have a look.
From the logs:

124thATC v2.0-a60RC31 19:28:33: No airport flows found, wind less than 10 knots. Get runway by location...
124thATC v2.0-a60RC31 14:22:27: No airport flows found, wind less than 10 knots. Get runway by location...
124thATC v2.0-a60RC31 13:57:25: No airport flows found, wind less than 10 knots. Get runway by location...
124thATC Developer

argonius
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 2:14 pm

Re: RCs public previews

Post by argonius » Sun May 05, 2019 11:28 am

ntnll wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 9:43 am
Apparently the plugin is detecting less than 10 knots wind. If you are sure the wind was faster, I'll have a look.
From the logs:
Does it consider the current wind data at the location (and height) of the aircraft or does it consider the wind information at the arrival airport taken from METAR? I think that I have once somewhere read that it is the first case.

/Christian

ntnll
Posts: 593
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 12:32 pm

Re: RCs public previews

Post by ntnll » Sun May 05, 2019 12:05 pm

argonius wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 11:28 am
ntnll wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 9:43 am
Apparently the plugin is detecting less than 10 knots wind. If you are sure the wind was faster, I'll have a look.
From the logs:
Does it consider the current wind data at the location (and height) of the aircraft or does it consider the wind information at the arrival airport taken from METAR? I think that I have once somewhere read that it is the first case.

/Christian
The first unfortunately, still the original 124thATCv1 project code, one of the last few part I didn't rewrote. I'll try to push some improvements in .60 version, not easy change though.
124thATC Developer

ntnll
Posts: 593
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 12:32 pm

Re: RCs public previews

Post by ntnll » Sun May 05, 2019 1:10 pm

peroni wrote:
Thu May 02, 2019 1:20 pm
Hi Antonello (can we help you find who stole your wovels? :D )

Is there any plan to reduce the amount of time your plugin takes to initialize?
Hi Peroni,
My last tests shows 35 seconds difference (1 minute and 40 seconds vs 1 minutes and 05 seconds) removing 124thATC from the plugin folder.
I made some optimization in the code in the current build I'm working on. How much seconds takes in your installation? Which version are you using?
124thATC Developer

earlcw
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:37 pm

Re: RCs public previews

Post by earlcw » Sun May 05, 2019 2:29 pm

Using RC31 landing at CYQY an airport without stars but with an ILS flight plan was setup for the ILS final waypoint entry SASIK and RC31 added 5 additional stops that looped around and back to SASIK. Didn't create a 0,0 which is good but still. Have to say rc31 is doing way better.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

vittop
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:50 am

Re: RCs public previews

Post by vittop » Sun May 05, 2019 4:40 pm

ntnll wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 9:43 am
vittop wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 11:18 pm
ntnll wrote:
Sat Apr 27, 2019 9:45 am
124thATCv2.0-a60RC31 uploaded. Many bugs fixed. Descent phase improved. Missed approach call bug fixed. Minor bugs fixed
Retried flight from PAGE KPGA to CORTEZ KCEZ which failed with RC30. With RC31 I was able to file IFR fp request to TWR, and fly to delivery to destination TWR at about 2000ft above apt level, where I was previously instructed to land on rwy 03. At the time of handoff to twr, nevertheless I was 7-8 mls from rwy but not aligned with it, instead displaced at about 45 degs on the right, strange when automatic STAR is selected. No problem, I turned left to reach glide path and then right when aligned with rwy. Last remark, when approaching at 100 kts IAS as recommended, I noticed a strangely high ground speed as well as at touch down at 90 kts IAS. A call to ATIS revealed a tail wind of 14 kts from 200 degs. I would have expected to be assigned rwy 21. Is there a built-in algorythm to decide which rwy assign for landing or is it random?

as usual, find debug attached
bugReport.tar.gz

Also Retried my other test flight with C172 KPAE->KCLM via SEA ULESS ARRIE ELWHA. No change: also with RC31 just like RC29\30 after ULESS no instruction to turn toward ARRIE. C172 left heading toward Sakhalin. Hope not to find any soviet Flagon still on patrol :-(

as usual, find debug attached
bugReport1.tar.gz

Finally, tested RC31 C90B KCEZ->KASE. A first test using manual START/SID went ok until on approach to KASE where I crashed for icing on final leg due to severe weather. A second test using auto START/SID crashed after center accepted my flight plane. I have a debug for this also

bugReport2.tar.gz
Apparently the plugin is detecting less than 10 knots wind. If you are sure the wind was faster, I'll have a look.
From the logs:

124thATC v2.0-a60RC31 19:28:33: No airport flows found, wind less than 10 knots. Get runway by location...
124thATC v2.0-a60RC31 14:22:27: No airport flows found, wind less than 10 knots. Get runway by location...
124thATC v2.0-a60RC31 13:57:25: No airport flows found, wind less than 10 knots. Get runway by location...
Probably I gave insufficient details: look at line 46093, self explaining.

124thATC v2.0-a60RC31 20:02:41: Communication: N43XS, wind 209 14 knots, runway 03, cleared to land.
[Using XP11.41r1|Ubuntu 16.04.7\Mint 18.3|Kernel 4.15.0-99|amdgpu opensource driver|Mesa 18.0.5]

ntnll
Posts: 593
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 12:32 pm

Re: RCs public previews

Post by ntnll » Sun May 05, 2019 4:47 pm

vittop wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 4:40 pm

well, as I wrote, I invoked Atis just after stopped on the rwy.
Anyway as mentioned, I would not be surprised, because the function is not fully reliable being the wind speed registered at the airplane position. I'm not 100% sure X-Plane SDK provides wind speed information at a given lat/lon (destination airport), I'll have a look.

thanks for reporting vittop anyway
a.
124thATC Developer

ntnll
Posts: 593
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 12:32 pm

Re: Altitude cleared does not match with Maps

Post by ntnll » Sun May 05, 2019 5:11 pm

oncleseb wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 6:19 am
Hi Antonello,
Flight KMIA to KSRQ, FL140, no SID no STAR selected.
But, in order to test, I chose to flight, just after take take-off, to WINCO fix point.
On maps, altitude at WINCO is limited to 5000, because WINCO belongs to KMIA SID fix points.
124th has cleared me to 7000 !
(After, cleard me to FL140, ok !)
Sebastien
Hi Sebastien,

First of all mentioning that apparently you're filing a SID fixes in the flight plan (WINCO2). You should avoid to file SIDs, STARs or airports in the flight plan. I added anyway a sanity check in the current build I'm working on, in order to prevent such errors.

Second thing I noticed, you don't request the plugin to look for SID and STARS, so no one restriction will be searched anyway without select the SID/STAR search box.

Last point, I don't find trace of such FL restriction in the navdata I'm using (KMIA.dat cycle 1901). Also my flight planner EFASS doesn't show any restriction at any FIX along the SID WINCO2. What charts are you using for plan your flight?

a.
124thATC Developer

vittop
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:50 am

Re: RCs public previews

Post by vittop » Sun May 05, 2019 7:35 pm

ntnll wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 4:47 pm
vittop wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 4:40 pm

well, as I wrote, I invoked Atis just after stopped on the rwy.
Anyway as mentioned, I would not be surprised, because the function is not fully reliable being the wind speed registered at the airplane position. I'm not 100% sure X-Plane SDK provides wind speed information at a given lat/lon (destination airport), I'll have a look.

thanks for reporting vittop anyway
a.
Probably I gave insufficient details: look at line 46093, self explaining.

124thATC v2.0-a60RC31 20:02:41: Communication: N43XS, wind 209 14 knots, runway 03, cleared to land.
Top
[Using XP11.41r1|Ubuntu 16.04.7\Mint 18.3|Kernel 4.15.0-99|amdgpu opensource driver|Mesa 18.0.5]

peroni
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:54 pm

Re: RCs public previews

Post by peroni » Sun May 05, 2019 8:46 pm

ntnll wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 1:10 pm
peroni wrote:
Thu May 02, 2019 1:20 pm
Hi Antonello (can we help you find who stole your wovels? :D )

Is there any plan to reduce the amount of time your plugin takes to initialize?
Hi Peroni,
My last tests shows 35 seconds difference (1 minute and 40 seconds vs 1 minutes and 05 seconds) removing 124thATC from the plugin folder.
I made some optimization in the code in the current build I'm working on. How much seconds takes in your installation? Which version are you using?
56 seconds is the difference for me. Using RC31

Post Reply